This Other Life

23Apr09

I’ve been interested to follow some of the commentary written here already, but I’ve similarly been aware that I haven’t had much to add. I was interested particularly in the voices directing the avatar as well as the soundscapes. However, I’m aware that on 1 May and 6 May the Two Crowds project is kicking in with a group visit to SL. As I understand it, a number of us will meet in SL at the designated place in order to connect and possibly execute a task or two. The former may be enough; if not, perhaps a prior discussion around what the latter might involve, would be useful.
I don’t know if people are aware of Odyssey which is an island given over to performance and art events – you can search for and find it pretty easily, if not. I went to a fantastic event there recently (in fact this was pretty much the first ever performance event I’ve visited except for a very dull trek to a recreated Globe Theatre where some drunk Americans wreaked their destruction on Twelfth Night). A group called, I think, Second Front, appeared and moved around in unison – they all wore identical, rather sinister clothing and carried large mallets. There were also spectacular displays of digital art arising out of the earth and disappearing into the skies. This may be a bread and butter experience for more experienced SLers but it was pretty interesting for a novice.
Odyssey was in fact started by a friend of mine who runs a company in London called Dynamis, which was why it was an early call for me. The company picks up the bill and a number of artists are given the task of running it and creating events. I believe that the Avatar Metaverse Orchestra have good connections there. It’s essentially a philanthropic, non-commercial exercise. I have been given the details of the guy who’s in charge of making it all happen and will be connecting with him soon.

Chris Johnston
23 April

No Responses Yet to “This Other Life”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

